“Pushin'”

Posted on October 26, 2012


(A #KZHS Interactive Hip-Hop Experience)

 

“Pushin”

 Lyrics by K. Ziruolo

Music: Bun-B’s “Pushin” instrumental

(Click for music; lyrics begin at 0:25)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sj9_Slubmbo

[Verse 1]

I enrolled five times, but always dropped out of college

The freedom is even sweeter than prom night corsages

Not concerned with fame, but appreciate being acknowledged

Out-of-sight like stolen big block engines in garages

Both parties are hell-bent on controlling us with carnage

It doesn’t matter who’s in charge cause they answer the same sergeant

They shit on us and leave like a triple-ply Charmin

We’re considered expendable like a thrift store garment

Never just a shoving match; life escalates farther

From the hyper-vigilance to you sleeping in body armor

Or refusing to enter cars not equipped with remote starters

Can’t leave the damn house; dodging bullets like a varmint

When the time finally arrives for you to lay your head back

Will your memories be more than just traps and dope sacks?

And forty ounce beers; with the first sip poured back?

To the grass, plants, or concrete patch that you’re standing at

[Verse 2]

I’m sharp as a box knife; I’ve been pushing my whole life

To have a story like mine; you need ten? I got five

Get paranoid in the car when going out for a short drive

At night, good luck you bastards; you won’t take me in alive

Sidestep the limelight; Money Gram me when the time’s right

I can see into the future; but I’m better off in hindsight

No stopping KZ’s grind or pausing to watch Twilight

Or experience what standing in line for iPhone 5’s like

People are more conniving now than an industry insider

Tweeted the Honeycomb; but threw rocks at the bee hive

The chopper wears a laser but I’m proficient with iron sites

Graduation put a quick stop to hand-to-hand fights

Like Essence once mentioned we can accomplish anything

Find my way to the first million; everything will be zen

Painting shoes with playing cards and engraving on Mac-10s

I’m sure to be discovered, but the question begged is when?

Posted in: Uncategorized